I Wonder

wonder

I wonder if you think of me with anger and regret.

Or maybe you’d rather not think of me, but simply forget.

Could you think of me with love and kindness?

Do you long to hold me tight and give my lips a kiss?

Do I keep you awake, your mind a twisted mess?

When you finally fall asleep, in your dreams am I a guest?

I wonder if you think of me every now and then.

I wonder if it makes you smile, or frown, or grin.

Do you ever think about all the plans we made?

How we shared our hopes and dreams, or was that a charade?

I know it’s not your fault, I take all the blame,

but do you ever wonder, what if things hadn’t been the same?

What if I was stronger, able to hold on tight?

Would we be together, maybe this very night?

Sometimes I just wonder if you think of me,

and if you are wondering if I am wondering.

~lis~

14 thoughts on “I Wonder

  1. I like it. Especially given that it’s an older work. I guess if it made me yawn I would simply find something else to read. It’s a rather simple solution actually. πŸ™‚

    Like

Use your words...

