Things I Don’t Understand

I wrote him a beautiful poem to tell him goodbye
he text me the same day. I wondered why

seems he was dreaming of me while I was dreaming of him
my mind freaked out more than a bit

Is this fate or irony stepping in
is this an end or another beginning

we will never be together nor ever apart
we are strung together somehow by our hearts

We are every fucking wrong and not one single right
yet our dreams come together in the dead of the night

and when I pull out my phone to tell him goodbye
he has pulled out his, to tell me hi

We both lie awake hours into the morning
not understanding what any of it means

except I love him
and he loves me.

14 thoughts on “Things I Don’t Understand

  1. I’m not much of a believer in fate and destiny, but I believe some people are drawn together somehow & once they find each other, complete separation is almost impossible. Moving on without the other would be like living without your soul. You don’t have to be together or lovers… just knowing they’re out there, somewhere, feels good. Not sure if that makes sense or not.

    Like

      • Keeping it healthy is the hard part. I struggle with that balance myself. As long as I can remember, I believed there was only one “Soul mate” for me. I was wrong and it rocked my world. Now it’s a battle that rages in my mind every single day.

        Like

  2. This is really really beautiful and touching.. many of us can relate to it..thank you so much for sharing.. (i am very new here,but i have been reading your poem now n then,and i love them! )

    Like

Use your words...

