Sweet Dreams

He Said
have sweet dreams
I said I will

what he didn’t know
and doesn’t still

is sleep will not come easily
not tonight
not for me

my stomach is tangled up
in knots
my head continues
to misfire shots

of cold, dark and dangerous thoughts
of what I should do
and what
I should not

Sweet dreams
sounds like a wonderful place
where surely
I’d find comfort
in his face

but nightmares
are what
await me
if I should close my eyes
this eve

a dark place inside my mind
where I wander
from time to time

where every loneliness
awaits
every personal demon
awakes

every flaw
every fail
I recall and see

every foul word
that has ever been spoken to me
replays again and again
in my head

I can’t erase them
they can’t be unsaid

these are the things
that make me small
make me feel
less than worthy
at all

makes me want to
push him
and every one else
away

yet

hopes of sweet dreams
are begging him to stay

6 thoughts on “Sweet Dreams

  1. The fact that you are able give voice to these feelings is powerful and inspirational. No doubt dreams can be difficult and yet dreams and “if’s” can also give comfort. πŸ™‚ It is important to write of the joy AND the struggles. Thank you for sharing.

    Like

  2. This is really good. It has the mass appeal that we can relate to, without losing the deep, personal feeling that is you. Nice. πŸ™‚

    Like

Use your words...

