It’s Just Another Day

Twenty-six years feels like today
compounded of course with
twenty-six years of shame

People think that it should
fade away
it doesn’t
it compounds every fucking day

The anger
the pain
the questions at hand
the things I’ll never know
that I’ll never understand

Twenty-six years
of an empty embrace
of wondering about
the smile on his face

And even as I sit and type out these words
I beat myself up
which is completely absurd

Twenty-six years
of my own private hell
I could share the weight
I could pass it around

But I don’t
I hold it close inside
it’s all I have left
for me alone, all mine

Twenty-six years
I won’t cry today
why would I
to the rest of the world
it’s just another day

9 thoughts on “It’s Just Another Day

Use your words...

