Do You Hear Me?

Written by Michael Agostino and the Holy Bible via Bruised Belly

Dear God can you hear me
Jesus Christ is the same yesterday, today and forever – Hebrews 13:8
Or do my prayers stop at the ceiling
I sought the Lord and he heard me and delivered me from all my fears – Psalm 34:4
Am I just talking to the air
I am with you always; even to the end of the world – Matthew 28:20
I need You to let me know that You are there
Fear Not, for I Am with you – Isiah 41:10
Times are getting so hard
Don’t be anxious about tomorrow, God will take care of your tomorrow too – Matthew 6:34
I want to drop Your book and head back out to the bar
It (the Bible) is God’s way of making us well prepared at every point, fully equipped to do good to everyone – 2 Timothy 3:17
My friends mock You
Pray for those who persecute you – Matthew 5:43
I’m not strong enough so I follow suit
But God’s truth stands firm like a Great Rock and nothing can shake it – 2 Timothy 2:19
I think of death and I stop breathing
For This world is not our home – Hebrews 13:14
I look around and I stop believing
There are three things that remain, Faith, Hope, and Love – and the greatest of these is Love – 1 Corinthians 13:13
People think they can fight hate with hate
Above all, Love each other deeply, because Love covers over multitudes of sins – 1 Peter 4:8
I think their convictions are just misplaced
Faith by itself, if it has no works is dead – John 2:19
Who am I to say what is right and what is wrong
Speak to each other about these things every day while there is still time, so that none of you will become hardened against God, being blinded by the glamor or sin – Hebrews 3:13
I hear non believers say “why can’t we all just get along”
Don’t get involved in arguing over unanswerable questions and controversial theological ideas – Titus 3:9
They say Your book causes separation
The voice of God will never contradict with the Word of God – Numbers 23:19
I say we all fall victim to our own temptations
God is at work within you, helping you want to obey him and then helping you do what he wants – Philippians 2:13
It’s just a chain that none of us really wants to break
If anyone is going to boast, let him boast only of what the Lord has done – 1 Corinthians 1:30
It’s just a commitment none of us really wants to make
If you cling to your life you will lose it, but if you give it up for your God you will save it – Matthew 10:39
Everything is changing around me
Behold I will do a NEW thing – Isiah 43:19
I feel like in my sin I am drowning
There is forgiveness of sins for all who turn to me – Luke 24:47
Is that You with your hand out
I will never leave you – Hebrews 13:15
Am I like Peter walking out the boat filled with doubt
When you go through deep waters I will be there with you – Isaiah 43:2
I feel more like Paul because I do the things I don’t want to do
For where your treasure is, there your heart will also be – Matthew 6:21
I feel like I can’t help but to disappoint You
Your mistakes do not define you – Psalm 37:24
I keep nailing Your son to that cross
I Forgive You – Romans 8:1
Dear God I am so lost
Don’t worry about anything; instead pray about everything – Philippians 4:6

Michael wrote these questions as a second part to our other piece The View of Interpretation, we just felt that there was more to be said.  I can take no credit for writing, I was only the vehicle for finding the scripture as response.

For when two or three gather together because they are mine, I will be right there among them. – Matthew 18:20

Please, if you have not already visited Michael as his site The Bus Stop Blues, I ask that you do.  He may be “just a man standing in front of a woman” writing “mere words”, but I think you will find his stories as wonderful as I do…

7 thoughts on “Do You Hear Me?

Use your words...

