To Drift Away

I’ve been spending far too much time in hospitals and various medical buildings during the last three months.  I’ve learned more than I have ever, ever wanted to know about the process of keeping the body alive and functioning.  I am quiet certain that I have been privy to more test results than any one lay person needs to be.

I am neither awed by modern medicine nor am I frightened by death.  I simply am.

It is my wish, whether it be tomorrow or 50 years from now, to never have a test run to find out what is “wrong” with me.  I wish to sit silently with only the sound soft waves lapping at my feet, a pen and notebook resting on my lap (I think I will add a DNR to all my notebooks.)  I want to just drift away in peace, without the tubes and machines.

11 thoughts on “To Drift Away

Use your words...

